Events

Poetry Workshop: Celebrating The Poet Within

Event Type: Workshop|Class
Date:
Saturday, 06/13/15 at 1:30 pm
Saturday, 07/11/15 at 1:30 pm
Saturday, 08/08/15 at 1:30 pm
Saturday, 09/19/15 at 1:30 pm
Saturday, 10/10/15 at 1:30 pm
Saturday, 11/14/15 at 1:30 pm
Saturday, 12/12/15 at 1:30 pm
Library: East Palo Alto
Ages: All Ages
Description:

Come join Poetess Kalamu Chaché in "Celebrating the Poet Within" you in this monthly workshop. This workshop will help you to learn to write poetry to celebrate and honor the events in your life. This event will be held every second Saturday of the month.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

From Nature to Table

Event Type: Workshop|Class
Date:
Monday, 08/10/15 at 3:30 pm
Library: Brisbane
Ages: School Age (5-12 years)
Description:

Students explore four ingredients harvested from rainforests and learn how these plants get from nature to the table. Lesson activity includes making ice cream using some of the featured ingredients!



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Computer Coach

Event Type: Workshop|Class
Date:
Tuesday, 07/28/15 at 10:00 am
Tuesday, 08/04/15 at 10:00 am
Tuesday, 08/11/15 at 10:00 am
Tuesday, 08/18/15 at 10:00 am
Library: San Carlos
Ages: Adults
Description:

Need computer help? Check out our drop-in service -- our volunteer computer coach, Arnie, will provide one-on-one help with basic computer and Internet questions.  Tuesdays 10am to 12pm in Meeting Room A.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Lawyers In The Library

Event Type: Workshop|Class
Date:
Tuesday, 08/11/15 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, 09/08/15 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, 10/13/15 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, 11/10/15 at 7:00 pm
Library: San Carlos
Ages: Adults
Description:

The second Tuesday (7 p.m. to 9 p.m.) of each month the library, in partnership with the San Mateo County Bar Association, holds free legal clinics.  Registrants get a twenty-minute free consultation with an attorney.  Lawyer's legal expertise may vary from month to month.

To register, visit the San Carlos Library, 610 Elm Street, San Carlos, or telephone 650.591.0341 and press 3.

A lawyer will be present, with legal expertise as noted. 



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Bones and Owl Pellet Dissection with Nature Connection

Event Type: Workshop|Class
Date:
Wednesday, 08/12/15 at 3:00 pm
Library: San Carlos
Ages: All Ages
Description:

Learn about the function of a spine by examining various animal backbones, and dissect an owl pellet to pick out bones to assemble a rodent skeleton. For ages 5 and up.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Minecraft Day: Programming Java (3 days)

Event Type: Workshop|Class
Date:
Monday, 07/13/15 at 9:00 am
Tuesday, 07/14/15 at 9:00 am
Wednesday, 07/15/15 at 9:00 am
Thursday, 08/13/15 at 9:00 am
Friday, 08/14/15 at 9:00 am
Saturday, 08/15/15 at 9:00 am
Library: East Palo Alto
Ages: Teens (13-18 years)
Description:

This is a great way for kids who love games to learn programming. We use Java, a programming language, on a real server that your child will setup and configure. Kids enjoy seeing the immediate results of their learning and are highly motivated to understand the capabilities and techniques of Java. This 3-day camp also draws on their imaginative abilities, creating new Minecraft mods that they’ve dreamed up but never thought they could build. Your child will leave camp with the ability to host their own Minecraft server for friends to collaborate on.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Skype: Online Video Conferencing

Event Type: Workshop|Class
Date:
Saturday, 08/15/15 at 10:30 am
Library: Millbrae
Ages: Adults
Description:

Learn how to open a free account, set up your equipment and software, make simple conference calls over the Internet, create and maintain a contact list, and use other provided features.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Paws for Tales

Event Type: Workshop|Class
Date:
Monday, 07/20/15 at 4:30 pm
Monday, 08/17/15 at 4:30 pm
Library: Half Moon Bay
Ages: School Age (5-12 years)
Description:

Children can improve their reading skills by reading to a trained therapy dog. Sign up in advance and join the fun.

Have a reluctant reader? Studies show children who are reluctant to read in front of peers are much less anxious with an animal present. Children don't perceive animals to be judgmental; mere animal presence helps them become more confident readers. Pet Assisted Therapy teams and their handlers are from the Peninsula Humane Society & the SPCA’s Paws for Tales program.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Sign In

Event Search

July 15

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Advanced Search

Comment