Events

Art of Food Carving by Chef Jimmy Zhang

Event Type: Millbrae
Date:
Tuesday, 02/09/16 at 6:00 pm
Library: Millbrae
Ages: All Ages
Description:

Jimmy Zhang, founder of Art Chef, Inc., will present a demonstration on the Chinese art of fruit and vegetable carving. The art of food carving has its roots in ancient China and has slowly developed and refined over the years. In 1998 Chef Zhang brought his unique talent and vast experience to the Bay Area, where he has earned many medals for top positions at the American Culinary Competition and Professional Chef Competition in this country.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Cooking Asian with Linda Anusasananan

Event Type: Millbrae
Date:
Tuesday, 02/09/16 at 6:30 pm
Library: Millbrae
Ages: Adults
Description:

Learn about Chinese New Year foods and the rather unknown history and cuisine of the Chinese nomads known as the Hakka.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Pajama Storytime

Event Type: Millbrae
Date:
Tuesday, 01/19/16 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, 01/26/16 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, 02/02/16 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, 02/09/16 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, 02/16/16 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, 02/23/16 at 7:00 pm
Tuesday, 03/01/16 at 7:00 pm
Library: Millbrae
Ages: All Ages
Description:

Grab your teddy bear and wear your pajamas for a fun evening of stories and songs.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Toddler Storytime

Event Type: Millbrae
Date:
Wednesday, 01/20/16 at 10:30 am
Wednesday, 01/27/16 at 10:30 am
Wednesday, 02/03/16 at 10:30 am
Wednesday, 02/10/16 at 10:30 am
Tuesday, 02/17/15 at 10:30 am
Tuesday, 02/24/15 at 10:30 am
Wednesday, 03/02/16 at 10:30 am
Library: Millbrae
Ages: Toddlers (18-36 months)
Description:

Songs, stories, and movement activities to encourage children to listen and read.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

T3: Teens @ 3

Event Type: Millbrae
Date:
Wednesday, 02/03/16 at 3:00 pm
Wednesday, 02/10/16 at 3:00 pm
Wednesday, 02/17/16 at 3:00 pm
Wednesday, 02/24/16 at 3:00 pm
Wednesday, 03/02/16 at 3:00 pm
Wednesday, 03/09/16 at 3:00 pm
Wednesday, 03/16/16 at 3:00 pm
Library: Millbrae
Ages: Teens (13-18 years)
Description:

Every Wednesday in the Library Meeting Rooms while school is in session. For 5th-9th grade students.

Board Games - 1st Wednesday of the month
Wii & Whatever - 2nd Wednesday of the month
Movies - 3rd Wednesday of the month
Surprise Event - 4th Wednesday of the month



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

T3: Henna For Teens

Event Type: Millbrae
Date:
Wednesday, 02/10/16 at 3:00 pm
Library: Millbrae
Ages: Teens (13-18 years)
Description:

Millbrae youth will have the opportunity to have henna applied to their skin during the February 10th Teens at 3 program. This artistic custom is practiced in many cultures around the world.

Henna is not permanent, but instead stains the skin. However, it will permanently stain clothing. Those who do not return permission slips will not be allowed to engage in henna application. Please contact the young adult librarian with questions or concerns.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Hamlet: Shakespeare on Tour

Event Type: Millbrae
Date:
Wednesday, 02/10/16 at 6:30 pm
Library: Millbrae
Ages: All Ages
Description:

The San Francisco Shakespeare Festival’s touring troupe presents an abridged performance of Hamlet - Shakespeare’s ghostly tale of a prince whose royal family is disrupted by revenge and corruption. Set in the court of Denmark, this murder mystery features, thrilling swordplay along with Shakespeare’s most famous soliloquy, ‘to be or not to be’ and other familiar text that will be readily recognized.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Around the World Storytime

Event Type: Millbrae
Date:
Thursday, 01/21/16 at 10:30 am
Thursday, 01/28/16 at 10:30 am
Thursday, 02/04/16 at 10:30 am
Thursday, 02/11/16 at 10:30 am
Thursday, 02/18/16 at 10:30 am
Thursday, 02/25/16 at 10:30 am
Thursday, 03/03/16 at 10:30 am
Library: Millbrae
Ages: Preschoolers (3-5 years)
Description:

Celebrating cultures, languages & children from all over the world!



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Millbrae Library Film Club

Event Type: Millbrae
Date:
Tuesday, 01/26/16 at 7:00 pm
Thursday, 02/11/16 at 7:00 pm
Thursday, 02/25/16 at 7:00 pm
Library: Millbrae
Ages: Adults
Description:

 Who wants to go to the movies? The Film Club screens and discusses entertaining and thought-provoking movies every month at the Millbrae Library. Whether you're a cinephile or you just want to try something new, Film Club has something for everyone. Admission is free to the general public and refreshments will be provided. 

January 26 Screening: Talk to Me (Rated R; 118 min)



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Paws for Tales

Event Type: Millbrae
Date:
Saturday, 01/09/16 at 10:30 am
Saturday, 02/13/16 at 10:30 am
Saturday, 03/12/16 at 10:30 am
Saturday, 04/09/16 at 10:30 am
Library: Millbrae
Ages: School Age (5-12 years)
Description:

Children can improve their reading skills by reading to a trained therapy dog. Sign up in advance and join the fun.

Have a reluctant reader? Studies show children who are reluctant to read in front of peers are much less anxious with an animal present. Children don't perceive animals to be judgmental; mere animal presence helps them become more confident readers. Pet Assisted Therapy teams and their handlers are from the Peninsula Humane Society & the SPCA’s Paws for Tales program.



Add to my calendar
Remind me
Show similar

Sign In

Event Search

February 16

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Advanced Search