Portola Valley Library Wins Architecture Award


Interior and exterior shots of the Portola Valley Library.Congratulations to the Portola Valley Library

The Portola Valley Town Center, including the Portola Valley Library, was listed as an Entry of Note by the jury of the Nathaniel A. Owings Award. The award jury called the Portola Valley Town Center and Library, designed by Siegel & Strain Architects and Goring & Straja Architects, "a thoughtful, restrained design involving community input and exhibiting a strong sensitivity for the natural environment."

The Portola Valley Library is a LEED Platinum building, and the Town Center as a whole has won over 10 awards for sustainability, design and energy efficiency, including a national Top Ten Green Project by the AIA Committee on the Environment in 2009.

The Nathaniel A. Owings Award

The Nathaniel A. Owings Award was created in 1986 to honor architect Nathaniel Owings. The award recognizes outstanding accomplishments in the reconciliation of nature and the built environment and consideration was restricted to projects built either in California or outside of the state by California professionals.

Owings thought we should build "in cooperation with nature—not against it." Owings believed architecture should contribute to the broader community and the creation of public space in American cities: "Non-architecture—open spaces—will be the objective, and the buildings will simply frame them."

Come visit the beautiful Portola Valley Library!


Author Bio: 

Nicole Pasini has worked on library programs and collections for teens, children, and adults and she is currently the Branch Manager at the Woodside and Portola Valley Libraries. She loves working at the beautiful Portola Valley Library!

Sign In